I am more and more convinced that one of the greatest deficits in the church is Eternal life, but not in the sense we make of it.  We lead people to Christ for “eternal life” which we define as getting to heaven, but that wasn’t God’s definition.

This is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. – John 17:3

I’ve heard many times growing up in church that Christianity is not a religion but a relationship.  We talk it up, but I just don’t see it.  I see a lot of people skirting around the edges of hearing God, of reading signs in everything around them and making a guess.  It reminds me of when you hear someone call your name across the house.  You know it happened, but you’re just not sure where they are or what they said.

I got onto this because today I found myself struggling.  I start down a good path and somehow manage to turn my pursuit of God into a list of chores.  When I get caught up in the things I’m trying to do, and not the God that I do them to find, it starts falling apart.  I find myself struggling to stay focused, I lose my excitement and motivation, and I think much of it comes down to leaving God out of my religion.  I know it’s funny to say, but that’s what we have taught ourselves to do.

